Europa League champion Villarreal - Turkish Super League

Europa League champion Villarreal

England’s Manchester United team and Spanish representative Villarreal met in the final match played at the Gdansk Stadium in Poland, where 9,500 fans, who accounted for 25 percent of the capacity due to the coronavirus epidemic, were followed from the stands.

Realizing the first serious attack of the match that started with the midfield struggle, Villarreal concluded it with a goal. In the Spanish representative who won the free kick, Gerard Moreno, who moved well in the long left by Daniel Parejo from the left, sent the ball to the net with a smooth kick in the penalty area and put his team ahead 1-0 in the 29th minute.

Europa League champion Villarreal

Displaying a more aggressive game in the remaining minutes, Manchester United struggled to pass Villarreal’s defense and the first half ended with a 1-0 lead by the Spanish representative.

Continuing the attacking game in the second half, Manchester United had no difficulty in bringing balance to the score. In a corner kick from the left wing of the England team, the Villarreal defense took the ball out of the penalty area, but the leather round fell in front of Manchester United’s Luke Shaw. Edinson Cavani, who met in the penalty area with the ball bouncing from the defense block once again in Shaw’s hard kick from the penalty line, sent the round of leather to the net and brought the score to 1-1 in the 55th minute.

In the remaining minutes of the fight where both teams defended well, the sides could not break the equality and the final match, which ended 1-1, went into overtime.

Europa League champion Villarreal

When Manchester United and Villarreal played cautiously in the first and second halves of extra time, the tie was not broken and the penalty shootout was passed in the final.

At Villarreal, Gerard Moreno, Daniel Raba, Paco Alcacer, Alberto Moreno, Daniel Parejo, Moi Gomez, Raul Albiol, Francis Coquelin, Mario Gaspar, Pau Torres and goalkeeper Geronimo Rulli scored from the penalty shootout.

At Manchester United, penalties by Juan Mata, Alex Telles, Bruno Fernandes, Marcus Rashford, Cavani, Fred, Daniel James, Luke Shaw, Axel Tuanzebe, Victor Lindelöf resulted in a goal, while goalkeeper David de Gea failed to take advantage of the penalty and Villarreal his opponent at 11-10 reached the cup by beating.

After the match, UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin gave the cup to Villareal team. The players of the Spanish club enjoyed great enthusiasm by raising the trophy together.

Europa League champion Villarreal

Galatasaray will play one more round

Galatasaray, who finished the Super League in second place due to Villarreal being the champion of the Europa League, will open the season earlier and participate in the UEFA Champions League qualifiers in the second round instead of the third round.

Coach Emery made history

Spanish coach Unai Emery, who won the UEFA Europa League trophy three times in a row while coaching Sevilla, repeated the same success with Villarreal and earned the title of coach with the highest number of championships in the tournament.

Yeremi Pino, who played in the final match at Villarreal, took the title of the youngest Spanish player to play in the European arena finals with the age of 18 and 218 days from Iker Casillas (19 years and 4 days).

At Manchester United, Cavani became the third player to score goals in the European arena finals aged 34 and over, after former footballers Gary McAllister and Didier Drogba.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post
UEFA Europa League Cup of Villarreal

UEFA Europa League Cup of Villarreal

Next Post
Enthusiastic welcome to Altay, who has risen to the Super League, in Izmir

Enthusiastic welcome to Altay, who has risen to the Tremendous League, in Izmir

Related Posts